We were set for a record turnout this year but the weather put many runners off although we still finished with our second highest number of finishers with 65 braving the awful conditions. Thanks to everyone one who ran and also to those who had the worst of the conditions, our course marshals and helpers.


First to cross the finish line, making his Twigg debut, was Martin Cooper in a fantastic time of 44:02 although considering he claimed a 10k handicap of 45 minutes he may have managed to outwit the handicap committee! Martin (pictured on the right) set off 30 minutes after the first runner and managed to overtake more than half the field. His 'gun time' was 74:02 which was just 16 seconds ahead of Joanna Smederod with Maggie Gorman a further 11 seconds back in 3rd place. Most of the handicaps seemed to have worked out ok with a steady stream of runners heading down Newbold Road despite a 41 minute gap between first and last at the start.


Richard Start posted the quickest time of the night, covering the 10k+ distance in 36:39. 2018 winner Joel Siddall was 2nd in 38:13 which was actually quicker than his winning time from last year of 39:14, a brilliant run considering the conditions. There was a tie for third quickest with Tom Topham, Nick Baker & Neil Robins all completing the course in 41 minutes.


A final thanks to Sue Brundrett who once again organised another great Twigg event.

Twigg Handicap 2018


Joel Siddall was the 2018 Twigg winner finishing well clear of second placed Sam Passingham who just managed to hold off a fast finishing Matt Hemsley. The trophy was presented to Joel at the post race buffet at the Olde House by 2017 winner Laura Lever.


Joel's actual time over the 10k+ course was 39:14 but the quickest runner on the night was Richard Start who set off last but finished 6th with a course time of 35:40, short of Steve Leverton's all time record of 35:15 but posting the quickest time since the start/finish was moved to Holmebrook Valley Park from St Mary's School. The previous best from Holmebrook was 35:55 by Steve Penney in 2013.  Russ White was the third runner on the night to break 40 minutes with a time of 39:35.


Fliss Milner was the first female home in 8th place overall and a personal time of 52:08. Sue Beckett finished 10th overall, 24 seconds behind Fliss with Lynne Delaney crossing the finish line a further 28 seconds later for third female. Hannah Barnett was the quickest female in 47:38.  


A big thank you to Sue Brundrett and the team of marshals and helpers who did a brilliant job in organising a great event once again. 

Twigg Handicap 2017


We had a record number of finishers for the 25th running of this event which is more of a social occasion than a serious race. Sue Brundrett was the ’mastermind’ behind the organisation this year and according to all the feedback did an excellent job.

After a close finish last year this time we had a runaway winner. To her credit Laura Lever’s time was over 6 minutes quicker than her 2016 time as she finished over 4 minutes ahead of second placed Bev Priestley. A surprised Laura proved to be a very popular winner. Second placed Bev actually started off first while Maggie Gorman finished in third just ahead of Michaela Lewis who actually set off with Laura. After that there was a steady trickle of runners snaking down Newbold Road and into Watermeadow Lane to the finish.

John Sanderson started last but was easily the fastest man on the course with an actual time of 37:43, the only one to dip under 40 minutes. Thanks to all the runners, we had a record 72 finishers, all the marshals and helpers and a special thanks to Sue Brundrett for all the work she put into the event. Runners, marshals, helpers and friends then descended on the Olde House for the post race buffet where the Twigg Trophy was presented to Laura by last year’s winner Kerry Anderson.

Twigg Handicap 2016


We had the closest finish for a few years with Kerry Anderson crossing the line just 3 seconds in front of John Sanderson who was the quickest runner on the course with a time of 38:31. Actual course time for Kerry was 54:28 which was a 10k PB.

This years race was once again organised by Sue Brundrett, Dave Hicken & Eddie McDermott who did another fine job.
The 65 race finishers plus marshals, helpers and friends added up to over 80 attending the post race buffet at The Olde House where the Twigg Trophy was presented to Kerry by Dave Hicken.